Candidate forums for Missouri offices planned

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The August primary is less than a month away. This means that registered voters have important decisions to make.

The League of Women Voters of Kansas City, Jackson, Clay and Platte Counties works to help voters find out about candidates running at a number of offices around the metro.

The group said it would host nine virtual candidate forums. The first will take place next week.

The League of Women Voters said all female candidates were invited to participate in the forums, but not all accepted.

The forums are free and open to the public, but you must register online if you plan to watch it live. Voters also have the option to watch the forum livestream via League’s Facebook page.

The forums will take place in the following order:

  • Tuesday July 12 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Jackson County Executive
      • Teresa Cass Galvin (R), Stacy Lake (R), Jason Pearson (R), Preston Smith (R) and Frank White Jr (R)
  • Wednesday July 13 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Jackson County Legislature – 1st district and 1st district overall
      • In the neighborhood:
        • Manuel “Manny” Arbaca IV (R), Geoff Gerling (R), Justice Horn (R) and Christina McDonough Hunt (R)
      • Bulk :
        • Brenda Allen (R), Jalen Anderson (R) and Bill E. Kidd (R)
  • Thursday July 14 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Jackson County Legislature 2nd District and 2nd District at-large
      • In the neighborhood:
        • Arimeta R. DuPree (R), Vanessa Huskey (R), Lorenzo Johnson (R) and Mitchell W. Sudduth (R)
      • Bulk :
        • Ryan Meyer (R), John J. Murphy (R), Donna Peyton (R), Bob Stringfield (R) and Zac Sweets (R)
  • Tuesday July 14 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Missouri Senate District 8 and Missouri House District 32
      • District 8
        • Rachel Aguirre (R), Mike Cierpoit (R), Antoine D. Jennings (R) and Joe Nicola (R)
      • Missouri Home District 32
        • Janice Brill (R) and Jeff Coleman (R)
  • Wednesday July 20 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Jackson County Legislature 3rd District and 3rd District
      • In the neighborhood :
        • Charlie Franklin (R) and April LaJune McGill (R)
      • In general :
        • Lance Dillenschneider (R), Megan Marshall (R), Tony Miller (R), Delmira Quarles (R)
  • Thursday July 21 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Jackson County Legislative District 6th
      • Trish Carlyle (R), Phyllis Edison (R), Roberta Gough (R), Sean Smith (R) and Amanda Toomey (R)
  • Tuesday July 26 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Missouri House Districts 21, 29, and 36
      • Missouri Home District 21
        • Robert Sauls (R) and Dakota Worrell (R)
      • Missouri Home District 29
        • Aaron Crossley (R), James Lowman (R), David Martin (R) and Gloria Stone (R)
      • Missouri Home District 36
        • John D. Boyd Jr. (R), Anthony Ealy (R), Kurt Lauvstad (R) and Annette Turnbaugh (R)
  • Wednesday July 27 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Missouri House Districts 34, 35, and 19
      • Missouri Home District 34
        • Ingrid Burnette (R), Karen Spalding (R) and Wick Thomas (R)
      • Missouri Home District 35
        • JC Crossley (R) and Kemp Strickler (R)
      • Missouri Home District 19
        • John Burrows (R) and Keri Ingle (R)
  • Thursday July 28 at 6:30 p.m.
    • Missouri House Districts 22 and 28
      • Missouri Home District 22
        • Kevon Graves (R), Davitta L. Hanson (R) and Yolanda Young (R)
      • Missouri Home District 28
        • Jerome Barnes (R) and Jennell Houts (R)

Forum recordings can be viewed on the League of Women Voters website after each event.

📲 Download the FOX4 News app to stay informed on the go.
📧 Sign up for FOX4 email alerts to get the latest news delivered to your inbox.
💻 Find today’s top stories at for Kansas City and all of Kansas and Missouri.

Harry L. Blanchard